Netizens express anger, frustration over CA rejection of Judy Taguiwalo

Netizens express anger, frustration over CA rejection of Judy Taguiwalo

- in News

“Wala nang pagasa talaga ang pilipinas laban sa mga corrupt na pulpulitiko.. Puro pansariling interest lang iniisip.. Mamamatay din kayo di nyo madadala sa hukay yang kayamanan nyo sa pagnanakaw nyo,” this was the reaction of Iggy Bronx Hona to the news that Judy Taguiwalo’s appointment as Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) was rejected by the Commission on Appointments (CA).

Taguiwalo, who is one of the most popular officials in the Duterte Cabinet, ran afoul.of the legislators after she refused to cave in to their demands to have a say in the disposition of DSWD funds. A practice that was done in past administrations, but is a major source of corruption.

The same sentiment was voiced by netizen, Boyet Samonte, who commented “Di kasi manakawan ang ahensiya hawak ni mam Judy kaya siya binaypass ng mga tongresman. Pag tapat sa Serbisyo tanggal, pag korap pasok, we salute you mam Judy.”

President Duterte echoed the frustrations of social media users. In a statement after the CA decision was announced, presidential spokesperson Ernie Abella, said that Malacañan is “saddened over the rejection of the ad interim appointment of Judy Taguiwalo as social welfare secretary (who) had served the Duterte administration with passion, profession and integrity.

She made an impact in the lives of many Filipinos in her tenure as DSWD Secretary. The President is now looking and studying for a possible replacement,” he said.

Other netizens were not as reserved in their comments, Sunstar Davao editor in chief, Stella Estremera said “It’s all about the money, the relief goods that should be given by the politicians in front of cameras, it’s all about all those photo opportunities and patronage lost. Yun yun. Dahil since naupo si Judy, walang-wala sila sa eksena, dahl walang umeeksena’t pinapaeksena. Ayaw nila ng ganoon. Gusto nila na ang lahat ng makatanggap ng binibigay ng gobyerno ay magkukumahog na dilaan ang kanilang mga pinky toes.”

There were even calls for Taguiwalo to run for the senate, “Kung ayaw ng coa. Then lets put her in the senate. Let the people decide were she belongs. Alisin ang mga trapo sa senate at congress. Mga lintik na yan!,” said Anton Tolosa.

The members of the CA are Aquilino Pimentel III, Juan Miguel Zubiri, Franklin Drilon, Kiko Pangilinan, Bam Aquino, Gregorio Honasan, Panfilo Lacson, Loren Legarda, Vicente Sotto III, JV Ejercito, Manny Pacquiao, Ralph Recto, Ronaldo Zamora, Jerry Treñas, Rodolfo T. Albano III, Benhur Salimbangon, Josephine Y. Ramirez-Sato, Julieta Cortuna, Roy Loyola, Abraham Tolentino, Weslie Gatchalian, Sandy Ocampo, and Joel Mayo Almario.

If you enjoy reading our stories,
please help keep Mindanation up and running by donating any amount.
Your support will go a long way in keeping us going.

Facebook Comments

You may also like

Exclusive: Look! 39Mbps Globe mobile internet speed recorded in Bongao, Tawi-Tawi

For the first time, a remote town in